Buy ticket

Cierniak show in Krsko - six Poles in Challenge

Share on:

Saturday night marked the final two qualifying rounds for the SEC Challenge. Eight additional riders advanced to the decisive competition, which will take place in Daugavpils on May 12.

The third qualifying round was held in Stralsund. Maciej Janowski, Przemyslaw Pawlicki, and Rasmus Jensen set the pace from the beginning, securing their promotion to the SEC Challenge. Each scored 14 points in five starts, necessitating an extra race to determine the final order. In this race, "Magic" Janowski emerged victorious, with Pawlicki finishing second and Jensen third. Dimitri Berge secured the last qualifying spot for the Latvian final.

3rd Qualifying Round, Stralsund:

1.Maciej Janowski (Poland) - (3,2,3,3,3,3) 14+3
2.Przemyslaw Pawlicki (Poland) - (3,3,3,3,3,2) 14+2
3.Rasmus Jensen (Denmark) - (3,2,3,3,3,3) 14+1
4.Dimitri Berge (France) - (3,1,1,3,3) 11
5.Kim Nilsson (Sweden) - (1,3,3,2,1) 10
6.Olivier Berntzon (Sweden) - (3,1,2,2,1) 9
7.Steve Worrall (Great Britain) - (2,2,3,0,1) 8
8.Benjamin Basso (Denmark) - (1,2,1,2,2,2) 8
9.Daniils Kolodinskis (Latvia) - (1,2,1,2,2) 8
10.Kevin Wölbert (Germany) - (3,0,2,1,1) 7
11.Eduard Krcmar (Czech Republic) - (2,0,2,0,2) 6
12.Olegs Mihailovs (Latvia) - (d,2,1,1,0) 4
13.Valentin Grobauer (Germany) - (0,0,0,2,1) 3
14.Matous Kamenik (Czech Republic) - (1,1,0,ex,0) 2
15.Nicolo Percotti (Italy) - (0,1,0,0,0) 1
16.Celina Liebmann (Germany) - (1) 1
17.Glenn Moi (Norway) - (0,0,0,0,0) 0

The last qualifying round took place in Krsko. The Slovenian track was dominated by Mateusz Cierniak, a two-time U21 Individual World Champion, who left no doubt by finishing first and scoring a perfect 15 points. Piotr Pawlicki secured second place, only losing to Cierniak, while Vaclav Milik completed the podium. An additional race determined the final qualifier for the SEC Challenge, with Andreas Lyager prevailing over Anze Grmek to secure the last spot.

4th Qualifying Round, Krsko:

1.Mateusz Cierniak (Poland) - (3,3,3,3,3,3) 15
2.Piotr Pawlicki (Poland) - (3,3,3,2,3) 14
3.Vaclav Milik (Czech Republic) - (1,2,3,3,3,3) 12
4.Andreas Lyager (Denmark) - (3,3,2,1,2) 11+3
5.Anze Grmek (Slovenia) - (3,1,1,3,3) 11+2
6.Norick Blodern (Germany) - (2,2,3,2,1) 10
7.Paco Castagna (Italy) - (0,2,2,3,2) 9
8.Francis Gusts (Latvia) - (1,3,1,2,2) 9
9.Matic Ivacic (Slovenia) - (2,0,2,1,1) 6
10.Henry van der Steen (Netherlands) - (2,1,1,2,0) 6
11.Truls Kamhaug (Norway) - (1,2,1,0,ex) 4
12.Denis Stojs (Slovenia) - (0,0,0,1,2) 3
13.Steven Goret (France) - (2,1,0,ex,0) 3
14.David Bellego (France) - (1,0,2,-,-) 3
15.Andrea Battaglia (Italy) - (ex,1,0,0,1) 2
16.Andrei Popa (Romania) - (0,0,0,0,1) 1

SEC News
'Wild cards' for TAURON SEC 2024

 We have met the five riders who have received permanent 'wild cards' to compete in the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024.

Michelsen with a first SGP win

Three-time Individual European Champion Mikkel Michelsen won Saturday's round of the FIM Speedway Grand Prix, held in Landshut. For the Dane, it was his first victory in the Individual World Championship series.

Janowski won the SEC Challenge

The SEC Challenge ended with Maciej Janowski's triumph. Alongside the Pole, Piotr Pawlicki, Vaclav Milik, Kacper Woryna, and Jevgenijs Kostigovs secured advancement to TAURON SEC 2024.

It's time for the SEC Challenge!

Only hours separate us from the final decisions in the qualifying rounds for the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024. Who will secure promotion to this year's Individual European Championships? We will find out the answer to this question on Sunday afternoon.

SEC Challenge - ones to watch

The SEC Challenge will take place on the track in Daugavpils this upcoming Sunday. On Latvian soil, many experienced riders, who have achieved significant success on the international stage, will battle for participation in the TAURON SEC 2024. Who should you keep an eye on?

Who did best in SEC Challenge?

Every year, the SEC Challenge tournament delivers a thrilling dose of speedway excitement. Riders will battle it out in the final qualification round for the Individual European Championship for the 11th time, with Daugavpils hosting the event for the first time.

TAURON SEC 2023 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 3: Bydgoszcz
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 2: Güstrow
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 1: Częstochowa
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP SportoweFakty