Buy ticket

Janowski won the SEC Challenge

Share on:

The SEC Challenge ended with Maciej Janowski's triumph. Alongside the Pole, Piotr Pawlicki, Vaclav Milik, Kacper Woryna, and Jevgenijs Kostigovs secured advancement to TAURON SEC 2024.

In the first heats, the crucial factor was the start from the gate. Dimitri Berge showed a very good reaction in the first heat of the day, confidently securing a win. In the third heat, spectators witnessed an interesting battle between Thorssell and Cierniak throughout the distance, with the Swede ultimately emerging victorious.

In his second start, Anders Thomsen ‘fired up’. The acclaimed Dane showcased a phenomenal attack on Timo Lahti and celebrated a victory. Also notable was Piotr Pawlicki's performance in his second race. In heat 7, the Pole defeated the previously unbeaten Janowski and Thorssell.

The younger of the Pawlicki brothers didn't intend to stop and confidently sealed his second win in Daugavpils. Leading the event thanks to a victory over Andersen Thomsen, Maciej Janowski strengthened his position as the leader of the competition. In three starts, the Pole lost only one point.

‘Magic’ began the fourth series with another heat win, thereby securing a place in the top five of the competition, which guarantees advancement to TAURON SEC 2024. Despite an earlier mechanical failure, Thomsen still fought for a chance to advance thanks to a victory in heat 15.

In the first heat of the final series, the Dane's motorcycle malfunctioned for the second time, denying him the coveted advancement. In much better spirits, Piotr Pawlicki and Vaclav Milik ended the competition in second and third place, respectively. The last two spots granting advancement to this year's series were decided in a runoff race. Afterward, Kacper Woryna and Jevgenijs Kostigovs celebrated their entry into the TAURON SEC 2024 lineup.

Full results of the SEC Challenge:
1. Maciej Janowski (Poland) - (3,2,3,3,1) 12
2. Piotr Pawlicki (Poland) - (0,3,3,2,3) 11
3. Vaclav Milik (Czech Republic) - (1,3,3,1,3) 11
4. Kacper Woryna (Poland) - (1,2,1,2,3) 9+3 points in runoff race
5. Jevgenijs Kostigovs (Latvia) - (2,1,2,2,2) 9+2 points in runoff race
6. Timo Lahti (Sweden) - (1,2,2,3,1) 9+1 point in runoff race
7. Bartłomiej Kowalski (Poland) - (3,1,3,0,2) 9+0 points in runoff race
8. Przemysław Pawlicki (Poland) - (2,1,2,0,3) 8
9. Anders Thomsen (Denmark) - (1,3,dnf,3,dnf) 7
10. Dimitri Berge (France) - (3,dnf,2,2,0) 7
11. Rasmus Jensen (Denmark) - (0,1,1,1,2) 7
12. Mateusz Cierniak (Poland) - (2,2,0,1,2) 7
13. Frederik Jakobsen (Denmark) - (0,0,1,3,0) 4
14. Jacob Thorssell (Sweden) - (3,0,0,1,0) 4
15. Erik Riss (Germany) - (2,0,0,0,1) 3
16. Andreas Lyager (Denmark) - (0,1,1,0,1) 3
17. Daniels Kolodinskis (Latvia) - did not start
18. Olegs Mihailovs (Latvia) - did not start

SEC News
'Wild cards' for TAURON SEC 2024

 We have met the five riders who have received permanent 'wild cards' to compete in the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024.

Michelsen with a first SGP win

Three-time Individual European Champion Mikkel Michelsen won Saturday's round of the FIM Speedway Grand Prix, held in Landshut. For the Dane, it was his first victory in the Individual World Championship series.

Janowski won the SEC Challenge

The SEC Challenge ended with Maciej Janowski's triumph. Alongside the Pole, Piotr Pawlicki, Vaclav Milik, Kacper Woryna, and Jevgenijs Kostigovs secured advancement to TAURON SEC 2024.

It's time for the SEC Challenge!

Only hours separate us from the final decisions in the qualifying rounds for the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024. Who will secure promotion to this year's Individual European Championships? We will find out the answer to this question on Sunday afternoon.

SEC Challenge - ones to watch

The SEC Challenge will take place on the track in Daugavpils this upcoming Sunday. On Latvian soil, many experienced riders, who have achieved significant success on the international stage, will battle for participation in the TAURON SEC 2024. Who should you keep an eye on?

Who did best in SEC Challenge?

Every year, the SEC Challenge tournament delivers a thrilling dose of speedway excitement. Riders will battle it out in the final qualification round for the Individual European Championship for the 11th time, with Daugavpils hosting the event for the first time.

TAURON SEC 2023 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 3: Bydgoszcz
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 2: Güstrow
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 1: Częstochowa
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP SportoweFakty