TAURON SEC 2020 participants

Share on:

Let's meet the riders of TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2020. Below are introducing you the profiles and stats of the athletes who will start to compete for the Individual European Champion title on 4th of July.

 In the second list we present you another speedway athletes, including winners of TAURON SEC from past years – Nicki Pedersen and Andzejs Lebedevs.


Probably the most unexpected TAURON SEC winner and the only one who became Individual European Champion without winning any individual round of the series. For the rider from Latvia, this will be the fifth time he will take part in TAURON SEC as a regular participant of the series. Last season, Lebedevs appeared as a reserve in Vojens, where he scored eight points.

SEC stats:
Tournaments: 17
Heats: 89
Points: 128


Three-time Individual World Champion and Individual European Champion from 2016. The stats speak for themselves. Last year's TAURON SEC series was the first one in which Nicki Pedersen didn’t get a medal (he took part in the cycle in 2013-2016), but it should be noted that the Dane only took part in three of the four rounds of the series. In the beginning in Gustrow, Pedersen scored eight points without winning any heat. However, he managed to improve in Toruń. 11 points and the start in the final race significantly increased his chances for the Individual European Championship title. In Vojens, Pedersen scored 14 points, which pushed him up to the top of the score. Before the final round in Chorzów, he had only one point loss to the leader in the interim classification, Grigorij Laguta. Unfortunately, during a match of the Polish Ekstraliga, the Dane suffered an injury which excluded him from the final round at the Silesian Stadium.

SEC stats:
Tournaments: 19
Heats: 107
Points: 216


This will be the sixth edition of TAURON SEC in a row, with Vaclav Milik in the lineup. So far, the Czech rider won a silver and a bronze medal of the Individual European Championships and it seemed that gold could is within his reach. The beginning of last season was promising. Eight points and two won heats in Güstrow were supposed to be the announcement of a successful series, but later it turned out to be the best performance of TAURON SEC 2019 for Milik. The coming months will be extremely important for the Czech rider. Milik changed his club in the Polish Ekstraliga, where he will be one of the leaders of ROW Rybnik.

SEC stats:
Tournaments: 20
Heats: 105
Points: 156


Bronze medalist of TAURON SEC 2016 returns to the battle for the title of Individual European Champion. Kasprzak competed in the TAURON SEC series continuously each year from 2016 to 2018, taking third, fourth and eleventh place. The representative of Poland also showed up in the 2013 series, when he received a "wild card" for the competition in Gorican. The result? Victory with 15 points scored.

SEC stats:
Tournaments: 13
Heats: 69
Points: 116


Ups and downs - this is how you can describe Michael Jepsen Jensen’s TAURON SEC 2019 career. Very successful performances in Gustrow and Vojens, where he reached the final, alternate with less successful starts in Torun and Chorzow. The Dane fought for medal positions until the end of the series, but his performance at the Silesian Stadium made him fall out of the top five which get a promotion to this year's cycle. Michael Jepsen Jensen is a valiant rider and this fact was one of the determinants that made the Dane appear once again in the Individual European Championships lineup.

SEC stats:
Tournaments: 7
Heats: 26
Points: 59

SEC News
SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Poland

The Polish national team from the beginning of the Speedway Euro Championship series, it means from 2013, has always had a large group of regular participants in the stake. Despite such a large presence, it didn’t result in medal achievements, which may be surprising, because riders from this country are always highly rated and members of authorities often repeat that PGE Ekstraliga is "the best league in the world". However, Poles have only won two medals in the SEC cycle so far. The first of them – bronze – was won in 2016 by Krzysztof Kasprzak. Two years later Jaroslaw Hampel took second place and hung a silver medal around his neck. Every year Polish fans could watch three, four or even five (2015) riders with regular numbers from their country in the series.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Russia

Russia is another country, which achieved a victory in the Speedway Euro Championship. Riders from this country in eight years of competition in the series won two gold medals, to which they added two silver and two bronze. In 2013-2020 Russian representatives have always participated in the fight for the title of European champion. Two Russians defended their country's colors in the SEC cycle for six seasons and three time it was three riders. They won each of their medals in a different year, which meant that they weren’t on the final podium in only two seasons.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Latvia

A representative of Latvia appeared quite often among the regular participants in the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. This situation took place for five seasons – two riders from this country fought for the title of the best in Europe once and four times it was one rider. Despite the fact that Latvians have never been favorites in this series, one of them managed to win the Individual European Championship. Of course it was Andzejs Lebedevs, who defended his country's colors in the SEC cycle five times, winning the gold medal in the 2017 season.

Danes with the biggest amount of points in TAURON SEC 2020

The Danes scored the most points in last year's Individual European Championship series. Poland and Russia also have made it to the podium.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy