Buy ticket

Madsen one step away from making history

Share on:

Leon Madsen is close to break another record in the SEC series. This time, the Dane can become the first rider to win three inaugural rounds of Individual European Championships in a row.

The inaugural round of Speedway Euro Championship 2022 will be held in Rybnik. Last year's round of the competition at the Miejski Stadium was the third in history, which took place in this city. Recent events were won by Nicki Pedersen, Leon Madsen and Mikkel Michelsen respectively.

The winners of SEC from 2016 and 2018 can boast two victories at the opening of the Individual European Championship in a row. Nicki Pedersen won the inaugural rounds in 2014 and 2015. The three-time World Champion reached for victories in Guestrow and Torun. Madsen triumphed in both 2020 and 2021. Last year's silver medalist stood on the top step of the podium in Torun (2020) and Bydgoszcz (2021). Interestingly, Jarosław Hampel should be added to the group of riders who most often won the first round of the SEC in history. The representative of Poland won in 2017 in Torun, when he took part in the competition as a "wild card" and a year later in Gniezno, when he was already a regular participant of the series.

Leon Madsen has a chance to beat another record. The Dane is the only one, who won three SEC rounds in a row. He did it in 2020 when he won in Torun, Bydgoszcz and Rybnik. This time, Madsen can set another record, which will be extremely difficult to equal.

List of the 1st round SEC winners in 2013-2021:

2013: Gdańsk – Emil Sayfutdinov
2014: Guestrow – Nicki Pedersen
2015: Toruń – Nicki Pedersen
2016: Guestrow – Martin Vaculik
2017: Toruń – Jarosław Hampel
2018: Gniezno – Jarosław Hampel
2019: Guestrow – Grigorij Laguta
2020: Toruń – Leon Madsen
2021: Bydgoszcz – Leon Madsen


SEC News
TAURON SEC 2024 Round 1: Debrecen
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 3: Bydgoszcz
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 2: Güstrow
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions


Official Broadcaster





SpeedWolf Województwo ?l?skie Stadion ?l?ski

Media partners

WP SportoweFakty