2013-2020 SEC Summary: Czech Republic

Share on:

If we look at the performances of the Czech representatives in the Speedway Euro Championship in 2013-2020, the name of Václav Milík comes to the fore. This rider defended the colors of his country six times, fighting for the title of the best in Europe and he has been doing it continuously since 2015. He achieved the best results in the second half of the decade, when he finished with winning two medals – silver and bronze. In six seasons Poland's southern neighbours had one representative in the SEC cycle, in 2018 it was two riders and in 2014 there was no Czech among the regular participants.

At the beginning of the competition in the Speedway Euro Championship we could watch performances of Aleš Dryml. It is worth remembering that this rider won the Individual European Championship in 2012 – the last year, before One Sport took care of the organization. It was the first time that a series of four final tournaments was held, in which Dryml won after the competition in Rawicz, Daugavpils, Krško and Mureck. Unfortunately a year later his result was quite different. Dryml's performances were weak with the stronger rivals and he finished the series in 15th place with 15 points. In the next season, we didn’t watch any of the Czech representatives at the SEC series venues.

In 2015 we saw Václav Milík's debut in the Speedway Euro Championship. It have to be admitted that his beginning in this competition wasn’t the best. He collected 22 points on his account, which allowed him to take the 11th place in the final classification. This ambitious rider awakened in two next seasons. In 2016 he achieved the greatest success so far, winning a silver medal, for which he had to fight with Krzysztof Kasprzak in the additional heat. As he defeated a Polish rival in the „decider” at the track in Rybnik, he could enjoy silver and he was only two points short of Nicki Pedersen, who won the title. In the four final rounds he entered the final once, taking 2nd place in the mentioned Rybnik.

A year later, Milík was in the forefront again. After four final rounds, with 44 points he could enjoy the bronze medal, although he was only one point short of the silver, won by Artem Laguta and Czech lost eight points to the victorious Andzejs Lebedevs. This season he appeared three times in the final heat – he was second in Toruń, fourth in German Güstrow and in Swedish Hallstavik he won the tournament, held in the rain. In the following seasons Milík's form was much lower, with weaker results also in the Speedway Euro Championship. In 2018 he finished the cycle in 8th place with 32 points on his account. Josef Franc also took the place in the SEC in the same season (via Challenge in Terenzano). His performances were very poor and in the end with only 4 points he was 20th, which was the worst result in 2013-2020, among regular participants of the series.

The next two seasons weren’t successful for Václav Milík. In the first of them (2019) he scored 22 points and finished the competition in 11th place. In the pandemic year 2020, in the five final rounds hosted in Poland, he ranked one position higher, with 26 points next to his name.

In 2013-2020 none of the Speedway European Championship final tournaments took place in the Czech Republic. In the 2018 season, the qualifying semi-final was held in Pardubice and Antonio Lindbäck, Kai Huckenbeck and Eduard Krčmář won three passes to the SEC Challenge in Terenzano.

SEC News

Frenchman David Bellego is no stranger to the Speedway Euro Championship having appeared in the finals for the last two years. But to make it three years in a row he will need to qualify through this weekend’s SEC Challenge which take place at Pardubice, Czech Republic.

PATRICK HANSEN: Pardubice is one of my favourite tracks

Danish rider, Patrick Hansen, will be 23 yrs later this year and is enjoying an impressive start to his 2021 season. He represents Grinsted KS Liga in Denmark, Avesta Masarna in Sweden and Arged Malesa Ostrow in Poland’s eWinner 1 league. In fact, he top-scored in Ostrow’s opening match and was undefeated in their match against Gniezno which was cut short due to bad weather. But the highlight so far occurred on 14 April in Esbjerg, Denmark. That night he surprised many by winning the Danish SGP/ SEC qualifier. It was not only the way he did it that caught people’s attention – he won 4 out of 5 heats – but the riders he beat, including Mikkel Michelsen, Kenneth Bjerre, Jonas Jeppesen and Marcus Birkemose who are all signed with Ekstraliga clubs this year.


This year’s TAURON SEC is almost upon us and this weekend we will see five qualifiers go through from the SEC Challenge being held in Pardubice. The majority of the riders have already been racing in Poland’s first and second divisions. Here we can take a brief look at the form of two of the riders who have been racing in Ekstraliga before one of their most important races of the season.


For fans of the SEC, Mikkel Michelsen will be a familiar name - this year will be the fourth year in a row the Danish rider has competed in the European Championships. And with two fourth places and a win in 2019, the 26-year-old is looking for a podium finish.

Starting list for SEC Challenge in Pardubice

Pardubice will host SEC Challenge 2021. The competition will take place on 22nd of May. 16 riders will fight for five places, which will qualify them to the finals of Speedway Euro Championship 2021. The series will take place in Bydgoszcz (12.06), Güstrow (26.06), Gdansk (03.07) and Rybnik (10.07).


The Ekstraliga has now been running for one month in Poland and that gives us the first chance to look at our five finalists for this year’s Speedway Euro Championship.

All five riders have raced in all four of the rounds so far, except for Częstochowa’s Leon Madsen and Bartosz Smektala who had their away match against Gorzow cancelled due to bad weather forecast.

We will look at each rider in turn based on their heat average in Ekstraliga so far.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Bydgoszcz Guestrow Gda?sk Rybnik

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Grohmann Polski Cukier



Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy