Lebedevs the main candidate to gold according to Frątczak

Share on:

 After two rounds of SEC 2017 series, there’s extremely tight in the table. Meeting in Hallstavik is ahead and it can tell us a lot. We asked Jacek Frątczak – new manager of the Get Well Toruń team about his bets for Saturday.

 Currently, it’s Andzejs Lebedevs, who’s holding a leader’s position. Latvian rider has clearly made his aspirations to reach for gold and his spectacular racing this season is its natural consequence.

- Naturally, we don’t know how it’s gonna end, that’s how sport goes, but it looks like this boy caught a phenomenal form. Usually, when you have a good material, you add some proper equipment and work the pre-season time well, then it’s not a surprise that Andzjes is such a huge surprise of not only the PGE Ekstraliga, but also one of the main candidates to win the European Championship. Nothing, however announces any bad changes, so it should be fine in Hallstavik – Jacek Frątczak says.

All the guys behind, however are only waiting for his mistake. In the previous round, it was Artem Laguta grabbing the win and he sent a clear signal – „you have to count me in” in the game for gold. It’s just similar with Vaclav Milik, but Polish fans are still looking forward to their fellow countrymen joining this group.

- Artem is pure class, there should be no troubles with him. I also see him in the final of Hallstavik round. I’m sure he’ll end in the top. Never though, I’m still staying with my statement that Przemysław Pawlicki, who’s coming back after an injury, should also get a good result. Poles have been dominating speedway this year and also Krzysztof Kasprzak seems like found a good rhythm. In Güstrow, he had a bit of luck, because while having not so many points, he still ended on a high position. I’m surprised with his racing in UK, though. If only he finds a proper setups, have a good disposition of the day, he also can fight for some top spots in Sweden. I see him in the TOP 6 – Frątczak says.

Podium should be completed with silver medalist from the last year. Popular „Vasek” is not willing to end the series with nothing in his hands.

- I have a big sentyment for Vaclav Milik. His presence in the top makes us happy, because it spreads a speedway map. Sometimes, flops happen, but in the decisive moments, he’s capable of doing anyghing. TOP 6 goes for sure for Milik, but it can be too tight for him to stand on the podium. Day’s disposition and a bit of luck will be crucial – Frątczak thinks.

By the decision of organizers, „wild card” was given to Jacob Thorssell. According to Toruń’s coach, Thorssell can also make a big surprise.

- He’s a very interesting rider, however when it comes to the league meetings, I’ve expected a bit more from him. Jacob is a hard-working guy. He’s extremely ambitious with a great technique. Even though he’s not the youngest guy, if he’s about to start more in the Polish league, it will bring effets. Marek Cieślak gave him a feeling of comfort. In Hallstavik, however, in this specific conditions, he can gain an advantage over the others. I think he can be a „dark horse” of this round – Frątczak ends.

Third round of Speedway Euro Championship comes on August 5th in Hallstavik. Tickets for this round are available here: www.bit.ly/SEC_HALLSTAVIK.

Final of this year’s SEC will take place in Lublin on September 16th. Tickets are available: www.bit.ly/SEC_LUBLIN.

Official starting list for the SEC 2017 Round 3 in Hallstavik, 5.08.2017, 5:00 p.m.:

1. Przemysław Pawlicki #59 (Poland)
2. Artem Laguta #2 (Russia)
3. Andrey Kudryashov #9 (Russia)
4. Vaclav Milik #13 (Czech Republic)
5. Leon Madsen #66 (Denmark)
6. Mikkel Bech #177 (Denmark)
7. Martin Smolinski #84 (Germany)
8. Mateusz Szczepaniak #58 (Poland)
9. Adrian Miedziński #20 (Poland)
10. Jacob Thorssell #16 (Sweden)
11. Krzysztof Kasprzak #507 (Poland)
12. Andreas Jonsson #100 (Sweden)
13. Michael Jepsen Jensen #52 (Denmark)
14. Kenneth Bjerre #91 (Denmark)
15. Kacper Gomólski #44 (Poland)
16. Andzejs Lebedevs #129 (Latvia)
17. Pontus Aspgren (Sweden)
18. Kenny Wennerstam (Sweden)



SEC News
Artem Laguta: I felt that gold was very close

 Good beginning gave him a chance to chase the leader Andzejs Lebedevs. Unfortunately for him, he didn’t read the surface changes as good as his rival. That didn’t allow him to take the gold. At the same time, Russian closed the gap between him and Vaclav Milik and finally overtook Czech in general classification

Kudriashov: "I want to race in SEC 2018"

This year's SEC was the first one for Andrey Kudriashov, in which he performed in all of the four rounds. Bronze medalist of Speedway World Cup is satisfied with results he achieved.

Kasprzak: "I've got one medal, time for more"

Krzysztof Kasprzak became the winner of Speedway Euro Championship Final Round, which was taken in Lublin. However, "KK" didn't manage to defend bronze medal, which he reached for, one year back. This time, he was 4th.

Vaclav Milik: Next year I’ll fight for gold

 Before last Speedway Euro Championship, Vaclav Milik was the biggest favourite to take the title. Czech finished competition in Lublin finished 6th. It resulted in him losing 2nd position in general classification. At the same time, he took bronze.

Lebedevs becomes the new European champion

 Krzysztof Kasprzak won the final round of SEC, which took place in Lublin. Andrzejs Lebedevs became the new Individual European Champion. Silver was taken by Artem Laguta, and the bronze medal went to Vaclav Milik. Andreas Jonsson and Krzysztof Kasprzak earned the right to stay in the cycle.

Speedway fan zone in Lublin

 On 14th of October, at the MOSiR Bystrzyca Stadium in Lublin, final round of Speedway Euro Championship will be taken. Next to sport emotions, a special fan zone, next to Aqua Lublin, will be waiting for all the fans and it looks really impressive.

SEC 2017 Final Round: Lublin
SEC 2017: R3 Hallstavik
SEC 2017: Round 2 Güstrow
Practice Güstrow
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Karolina Patrycja Sinem Dagmara Valeria
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Güstrow Hallstavik Lubelskie

Official Broadcaster



Lotto Eko-Dir ForBet Boll Per?a Lumel Poczta Polska


Auto Frelik Gloss MSiT Motor Lublin Manta

Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy ChilliTorun DD Torun Nowo?ci Radio Gra RMF Maxxx