Will "Cowboys" oppose their opponents?

Share on:

Currently Americans don’t have a lot of famous names in their team and the strenght of their national team is not as good as it was in a past. We must recall that USA won 8 medals in Best Pairs World Cup history and they are in a 4th place of this tournament general classification.

United States have two gold, two silver and three bronze medals. They won their first gold medal in 1981 in Chorzów. That day USA had great duet Bruce Penhall and Bobby Schwartz. Americans were on a podium with Poles and New Zealanders.

One year later the final of this cup took place in australian Sydney on a Liverpool Speedway track and it ended in a best way for Americans. Speedway riders from America defended the champions title, and the leader of their pair was Schwartz again. That time his partner was faultless Dennis Sigalos. "Cowboys" defeated in this tournament i.a. England and Denmark.

Last gold medal for America was won 10 years later in 1992 in Lonigo. Sam Ermolenko and Ronnie Correy were fighting for a medal but it wouldn’t happen without their reserve rider help. The "ace" of their team was Greg Hancock who replaced his teammate and became a hero of this tournament. USA and England had 23 points and additional race decided who will be the winner. In this race "Grin" was competing with Gary Havelock and he was first at the finish line winning a gold medal for America!

After 20 years "Cowboys" can compete with best speedway pairs again. On 8th June in Toruń the USA team will be managed by well known for supporters Billy Hamill - great rider from the past and Greg Hancock’sfriend from a track. "Herbie" and Ryan Fisher will represent America in Eurosport Speedway Best Pairs tournament. - Many years passed since I was riding last time in Best Pairs tournament for USA. I think that the organisators did great job inviting such a good riders from around the world for this tournament - said Hancock.

Eurosport Speedway Best Pairs torunament will take place next saturday. Will Americans be able to fight with the favourites from Poland, Russia and Australia? We’ll see it on 8th June on Motoarena in Toruń!

SEC News
Kubera: You have to fight for every point

The more you have, the more you want - that's how Dominik Kubera's ongoing career can be summarized in a nutshell. The Pole will be a permanent rider in the TAURON SEC 2023 series and certainly has the desire to fight for a medal. Recent months have shown that he is capable of great things. He has already left a mark in the European Championships and is planning to make even more.

Get back on the podium

When you hear Patryk Dudek's name, you immediately associate it with fighting for the highest prizes. It will be no different in the TAURON SEC 2023. "Duzers" will want to improve his results from a year ago and surely can count on the support of his loyal fans. In the experts' predictions, the experienced rider will be listed as a favourite to win the medal, and there are at least a few reasons for this.

Arenas of TAURON SEC series

We already know the calendar of the TAURON SEC 2023. The organizers chose venues that are famous for competitions full of excitement and countless on-track actions. The series will start in Częstochowa and will end in the extremely climatic Pardubice.

TAURON SEC 2023 calendar is revealed

Częstochowa, Güstrow, Bydgoszcz and Pardubice will host the 2023 TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. The competition for the gold medal of the Individual European Championship will begin on June 17, and the final round will be held on September 22.

Madsen: I have to finish the job

Leon Madsen became the 2022 Individual European Champion. In Pardubice, the Dane reached for his second TAURON SEC's gold and now has the same number of titles as Mikkel Michelsen and Emil Sayfutdinov.

Kołodziej: I hate tracks like this

Janusz Kołodziej won the silver medal of Individual European Championship. The representative of Poland came to Pardubice as the leader of the interim classification, but finished the series with only one point behind Leon Madsen.

TAURON SEC 2022 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 3: Łódź
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 2: Guestrow
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 1: Rybnik
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners