Will the bag of medals open for "Kangaroos"?

Share on:

Australians were standing on a World Cup podium three times. Each time they lacked a little bit of luck. "Kangaroos" duets were second every time, slightly losing with the winners.

First medal for the team from Antipodes was won by Phil Crump, who has been in fantastic disposition and John Boulger. 9 points gathered by the second of them wasn't enough to defeat great Swedes. That way in 1974 in Manchester, Australians won a silver medal.

For the next succes Australians waited 9 years. Goeteborg (Sweden) was the host of Best Pairs World Cup in 1983. That time great fight between England and Australia took place. On the finish of the tournament both pairs were separated by only a point! England pair Kenny Carter - Peter Collins won and "Kangaroos" were second again. Billy Sanders (15 points) was in a great disposition that day, and Gary Guglielmi (9 points) was a little bit worse.

Third and for this time last medal for Australia was won in 1990 in Landshut (Germany). Pair from Antipodes was fighting with Danes. Todd Wiltshire was the best on a track that day. Important points was gathered by Leigh Adams too, but that wasn't enough for Scandinavians. At the end Danes were 2 points better than Australia and "Kangaroos" were second third time.

In this year Best Pairs tournament is back in speedway calendar. On 8th June on Motoarena 7 international pairs will stand for a fight for victory. Australians will be one of them. The leader of "Kangaroos" team will be Chris Holder - actual World Champion. His partner will be Darcy Ward, who is giving compliments to his teammate: - He's a great partner for this type of competition. We're riding for the same team in Poland and England and we are understanding each other well on the track. Both riders are gathering points for Unibaks Toruń and knowledge of the local track can be a key to succes. Altough Ward is now injured and we don't know how his health will look like on 8th June, but we must realise that Australia have a lot of great riders, who will be able to replace their national teammate.

SEC News
Kubera: You have to fight for every point

The more you have, the more you want - that's how Dominik Kubera's ongoing career can be summarized in a nutshell. The Pole will be a permanent rider in the TAURON SEC 2023 series and certainly has the desire to fight for a medal. Recent months have shown that he is capable of great things. He has already left a mark in the European Championships and is planning to make even more.

Get back on the podium

When you hear Patryk Dudek's name, you immediately associate it with fighting for the highest prizes. It will be no different in the TAURON SEC 2023. "Duzers" will want to improve his results from a year ago and surely can count on the support of his loyal fans. In the experts' predictions, the experienced rider will be listed as a favourite to win the medal, and there are at least a few reasons for this.

Arenas of TAURON SEC series

We already know the calendar of the TAURON SEC 2023. The organizers chose venues that are famous for competitions full of excitement and countless on-track actions. The series will start in Częstochowa and will end in the extremely climatic Pardubice.

TAURON SEC 2023 calendar is revealed

Częstochowa, Güstrow, Bydgoszcz and Pardubice will host the 2023 TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. The competition for the gold medal of the Individual European Championship will begin on June 17, and the final round will be held on September 22.

Madsen: I have to finish the job

Leon Madsen became the 2022 Individual European Champion. In Pardubice, the Dane reached for his second TAURON SEC's gold and now has the same number of titles as Mikkel Michelsen and Emil Sayfutdinov.

Kołodziej: I hate tracks like this

Janusz Kołodziej won the silver medal of Individual European Championship. The representative of Poland came to Pardubice as the leader of the interim classification, but finished the series with only one point behind Leon Madsen.

TAURON SEC 2022 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 3: Łódź
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 2: Guestrow
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 1: Rybnik
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners