Brits in the TOP 5

Share on:

Daniel Bewley is the third representative of Great Britain who finished the SEC series in the TOP 5. Last year's rookie won a spot in SEC 2022 in an extra heat, in which he beat Bartosz Smektała.

The first of the British to finish the SEC tournament in the TOP 5 was Tai Woffinden. The three-time Individual World Champion was close not only to win a medal, but also to win the entire SEC 2013 series, but due to injury he did not take part in the final round, which was held in Rzeszów. Eventually, Woffinden took fifth place.

We waited five years for another GB representative in the SEC series. In 2018, Robert Lambert found himself in the lineup and already in his second start in the Individual European Championships, "Ruthless" stood on the highest step of the podium. Lambert won the tournament in Güstrow and took third place in Daugavpils. In the end he finished third in the general classification of the series.

The British returned to the TOP 5 of the SEC two years later thanks to Lambert, who reached for the gold medal of the Individual European Championships. The current regular participant of the Grand Prix series was the only rider from the top who scored 10 or more points in each round. Due to his constant and extremely high form he started the last round in Toruń with a lead of two points over Leon Madsen. In the end, the British rider not only won the competition at Motoarena, but also scored the most points.

Thanks to his victory in SEC 2020, Lambert has secured his spot in the next year’s competition. Daniel Bewley also joined the lineup of the 2021 Individual European Championships. Unexpectedly, it was the younger of the Brits who stood on the podium of the competitions, while "Ruthless" lost points in Bydgoszcz and Güstrow. In the end, Bewley took fifth place, which he earned in an extra heat in which he beat Bartosz Smektała. Lambert finished the last year's edition of SEC series in seventh position.

SEC News
TAURON SEC 2023 calendar is revealed

Częstochowa, Güstrow, Bydgoszcz and Pardubice will host the 2023 TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. The competition for the gold medal of the Individual European Championship will begin on June 17, and the final round will be held on September 22.

Madsen: I have to finish the job

Leon Madsen became the 2022 Individual European Champion. In Pardubice, the Dane reached for his second TAURON SEC's gold and now has the same number of titles as Mikkel Michelsen and Emil Sayfutdinov.

Kołodziej: I hate tracks like this

Janusz Kołodziej won the silver medal of Individual European Championship. The representative of Poland came to Pardubice as the leader of the interim classification, but finished the series with only one point behind Leon Madsen.

Michelsen: It would be an easy excuse

Mikkel Michelsen grabbed the bronze medal of TAURON SEC 2022. The Dane was fighting with rivals, but also with pain caused by the leg injury. Despite this, he showed great character and stood up on the lowest step of the podium.

Leon Madsen is the new Champion

Leon Madsen is back on top. The Dane made up the loss to Janusz Kołodziej and grabbed the gold medal of the Individual European Championship. Silver went to Kołodziej, while bronze to Mikkel Michelsen.

The first time in Pardubice

The Grand Final of TAURON SEC will be held on September 23rd. The series will end in Pardubice, which will be the host of the IEC round for the first time in history.

TAURON SEC 2022 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 3: Łódź
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 2: Guestrow
TAURON SEC 2022 Round 1: Rybnik
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners