Swedes aiming to return to TAURON SEC

Share on:

 Many Scandinavians will remember 5 August 2017 as the last time SEC series visited Sweden. But for riders that were there that night in Hallstavik, home of Rospiggarna, there is just the one thing that stands out - the weather.

 Although it was sunny on the late summer evening when the race started, it had been raining in the afternoon. And it barely stopped all evening.

“It rained like hell!” recalls Jacob Thorssell who appeared in the race as a wildcard that night, “The conditions were very unusual, there was a long pause during the match when they resurfaced the track after a heavy downpour. But I like it when there is a challenge,” he says with a competitive glint in his eyes.

With all the rain, “the track was really heavy,” reminiscences Pontus Aspgren, who was track reserve that night. Then only 26 yrs, he raced the round as a replacement for the injured Nicki Pedersen. The aggressive Dane was the defending European Champion, but damaged his neck vertebrae in May 2017 and sat out the entire season.

But both Swedish riders more than justified their selection for the round, stunning international audiences with two outstanding performances. They beat many of that year’s top riders, included Artem Laguta (who won the overall silver in 2017 TAURON SEC), Krzysztof Kasprzak (POL), Przemyslaw Pawlicki (POL) and the Danish trio of Michel Jepsen Jensen, Leon Madsen and Kenneth Bjerre.

This was even more remarkable for Aspgren who was competing in his first ever competition at SEC or SGP level, “So to come home in fifth place was totally fantastic,” he says proudly.

Thorssell had only turned 24 yrs just one week before, but held his focus despite the tricky conditions and made his way to the final, “But there I missed the gate,” he says reliving the disappointment, “So, I came in fourth when I could have done better. That said, looking back, I am really pleased with my performance”.

So, it is no surprise that the duo have the SEC and SGP Challenge in 2021 as major targets for the coming year.

“I know that on a good day, I can beat any rider - just like I did in 2017 in Hallstavik. So, I’ve got full focus on the SEC qualifier and SGP Challenge this year,” he says confidently. “It is also why I decided to return to Smederna after a year at Indianerna in 2020. It was a hard decision, but I’ve been in Eskilstuna for three years [2017-2019] and I think I have the best opportunities there, including sponsors, to take me forward,” he reflects.

The younger Thorssell is coming off the back of one of the best seasons in his career. The 27-year-old won the Swedish National Championships for the second year in a row, only dropping one point at Målilla in August 2020. Not only that, but he was the top rider with Dackarna with a 2.132 average, by far the best score of his career so far.

Swedish fans may remember that Andreas “AJ” Jonsson came third that night in Hallstavik, but since then he finished his career in 2019. At the end of 2020, Antonio Lindbäck also announced his retirement from the sport after winning the Swedish season with Masarna.

With these two gone, Swedish speedway fans are looking for a new rider to take over their spot at the top end of the sport.

Understandably, Thorssell and Aspgren are keen to take that spot and will get their first chance to realise their dream at the beginning of May. That’s because both have been chosen by SVEMO to compete in the European Championship Qualifier in Plzen on 1 May, just six weeks before the first SEC final in Bydgoszcz on June 12.

SEC News
Swedes aiming to return to TAURON SEC

 Many Scandinavians will remember 5 August 2017 as the last time SEC series visited Sweden. But for riders that were there that night in Hallstavik, home of Rospiggarna, there is just the one thing that stands out - the weather.

Gdańsk will host the third round of SEC 2021

Gdańsk will host the best speedway riders of Europe during the third round of Speedway Euro Championship 2021. The competition at the Zbigniew Podlecki Stadium will take place on July 3rd.


The Danish Motor Union has announced that it will have a national qualifying competition for the SEC and SGP prior to the domestic season starting in the country. The qualifier will take place on 14 April at Korskro Motorcentrum, the home of Esbjerg Vikings, who have experienced riders like Nils Kristian Iversen in their squad for the 2021 season.

SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Poland

The Polish national team from the beginning of the Speedway Euro Championship series, it means from 2013, has always had a large group of regular participants in the stake. Despite such a large presence, it didn’t result in medal achievements, which may be surprising, because riders from this country are always highly rated and members of authorities often repeat that PGE Ekstraliga is "the best league in the world". However, Poles have only won two medals in the SEC cycle so far. The first of them – bronze – was won in 2016 by Krzysztof Kasprzak. Two years later Jaroslaw Hampel took second place and hung a silver medal around his neck. Every year Polish fans could watch three, four or even five (2015) riders with regular numbers from their country in the series.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Grohmann


Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy