SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Share on:

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

There are 5 riders, who already secured their place in the series last year. The lucky ones are Robert Lambert, Leon Madsen, Grigorij Laguta, Mikkel Michelsen and Bartosz Smektała. The rest of the lineup will be determined in qualification rounds, which will take place on May 1 and 8 in Plzno, Debrecen, Pocking and Rovne. The winners if these rounds, will finally meet each other at the SEC Challenge on May 22 in Krsko and there they will compete for their place in the tournament.

SEC returns to the 4-round formula of the series. The competition will start on June 12 in Bydgoszcz. Next, the participants will compete on June 26 (Güstrow) and July 3 (TBA soon). The great final round will take place on July 10 in Rybnik.

Last season, Bydgoszcz hosted the best riders of the „old continent” for the first time and this event has met the expectations of speedway fans excellently. The track allowed to show, what the audience loves, namely great fights and many exciting passing maneuvers. After a year break SEC also returns to Germany. The short and technically challenging track in Güstrow allows no mistakes, so this is usually the place, where riders can gain or lose a lot.
- Last year we’ve had a Poland edition of the SEC. Getting through the first and very difficult pandemic phase was priority. We achieved it succesfully. The race in Bydgoszcz made history as one of the most beautiful SEC rounds. This season the best European riders return to Bydgoszcz and to Rybnik, which we remember from the exciting final round in 2016. Back then Nicki Pedersen managed to win the tournament, though at the beginning of the round he seemed to be at a hopeless position. I’m glad, that one of the rounds will happen in Güstrow. We’re leaving Poland again, making a step forward towards normality and heading to diversity. That is what the speedway fans want. I keep my fingers crossed for all participants and I can’t wait to see, who will win the ticket for the Grand Prix. Last year, Robert Lambert was the best, let’s see if SEC will create a new rocket star this year – says Piotr Szymański, Chairman of Track Racing Commission FIM Europe.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the host of the third SEC round will be announced at a later moment. The promoter is tracking the situation in Europe constantly and will confirm the information about the remaining round at a safe date.

The grand finale will take place in Rybnik. Fans still remember the phenomenal race in 2016. Back when Nicki Pedersen started from 9th position and eliminated all his competitors in a fantastic manner, finally becoming European Champion.

Speedway Euro Championship 2021 calendar:
12.06.2021 - Bydgoszcz (Poland)
26.06.2021 - Güstrow (Germany)
03.07.2021 – TBA
10.07.2021 - Rybnik (Poland)

SEC News
SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Poland

The Polish national team from the beginning of the Speedway Euro Championship series, it means from 2013, has always had a large group of regular participants in the stake. Despite such a large presence, it didn’t result in medal achievements, which may be surprising, because riders from this country are always highly rated and members of authorities often repeat that PGE Ekstraliga is "the best league in the world". However, Poles have only won two medals in the SEC cycle so far. The first of them – bronze – was won in 2016 by Krzysztof Kasprzak. Two years later Jaroslaw Hampel took second place and hung a silver medal around his neck. Every year Polish fans could watch three, four or even five (2015) riders with regular numbers from their country in the series.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Russia

Russia is another country, which achieved a victory in the Speedway Euro Championship. Riders from this country in eight years of competition in the series won two gold medals, to which they added two silver and two bronze. In 2013-2020 Russian representatives have always participated in the fight for the title of European champion. Two Russians defended their country's colors in the SEC cycle for six seasons and three time it was three riders. They won each of their medals in a different year, which meant that they weren’t on the final podium in only two seasons.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Latvia

A representative of Latvia appeared quite often among the regular participants in the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. This situation took place for five seasons – two riders from this country fought for the title of the best in Europe once and four times it was one rider. Despite the fact that Latvians have never been favorites in this series, one of them managed to win the Individual European Championship. Of course it was Andzejs Lebedevs, who defended his country's colors in the SEC cycle five times, winning the gold medal in the 2017 season.

Danes with the biggest amount of points in TAURON SEC 2020

The Danes scored the most points in last year's Individual European Championship series. Poland and Russia also have made it to the podium.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP Tygodnik ?u?lowy