2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Share on:

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

In the first season in the history of the SEC series Nicki Pedersen fought for the title to the very end. Finally he won the silver medal with 44 points, losing three to Martin Vaculík. Hans Andersen lost seven points to the podium and was fourth (35). Leon Madsen appeared on the track in the last tournament in Rzeszow, collecting 6 points and placing 21st in the classification. A year later two Danes stood on the final podium. Peter Kildemand was second and scored 48 points, losing six to Emil Sayfutdinov, who triumphed in the series. The same number of points as previous year was collected by Nicki Pedersen, which allowed him to take third place. Kenni Larsen was racing in the cycle at that time, but with 14 points he took the distant 15th place.

The 2015 season brought another medal to Nicki Pedersen. This time he won silver for the second time, but he already had 55 points. However it wasn’t enough and he lost only three to Sayfutdinov, who was the triumphant for the second year in a row. Pedersen's fellow-countrymen took lower positions – Hans Andersen was 9th (25 points) and Peter Kildemand 10th (22). A year later Danish fans could finally enjoy the gold of one of their riders and none other than Nicki Pedersen hung it around his neck. This time “only” 40 points was enough, which is 18 less than Russian has collected the year before. However, the SEC cycle in 2016 was very even and the Dane overtook the other podium rivals – Václav Milík and Krzysztof Kasprzak – by two points and he owed his success to an almost perfect performance in Rybnik (17 of 18). Leon Madsen finished four positions lower with 37 points, Hans Andersen was 13th with 24 points and Anders Thomsen (14th place with 20 points) ended the series with an injury suffered in the last of the final rounds.

2017 was the only year in which Danish fans did not enjoy any medal. Kenneth Bjerre was the highest ranked rider with 28 points, but it allowed him to take only 8th place. Michael Jepsen Jensen finished two positions lower, scoring 24 points next to his name. Leon Madsen and Mikkel Bech performed poorly – the first of them scored 20 points and took 12th place, while the second one collected 13th on his account and was placed 15th. Nicolai Klindt performed in the first two final rounds, finishing the series with just 5 points (21st place). The list of regular participants should include Nicki Pedersen, who was the champion from the previous year. However , the day after the triumph in Rybnik at the end of the 2016 season, he suffered a serious injury in Pardubice, which meant that he missed the Speedway Euro Championship in 2017. In the 2018 season Leon Madsen was the second triumphant for Denmark in the series. After a slightly weaker performance in Gniezno, in the next three final rounds he performed very well and after the meeting in Chorzow he won with 56 points on his account. Mikkel Michelsen finished the cycle in fourth place, collecting 40 points and he was only one point short of the third place on the podium, which was taken by Robert Lambert. Peter Kildemand scored 32 points, taking the 7th place in the final classification.

A year later the Dane again won the gold medal at the Individual European Championship. This time it was Mikkel Michelsen, who after the last final round in Chorzow had 45 points, the same number as Grigorij Laguta. However, the Dane defeated the Russian in the additional heat and could enjoy the victory in the series. Leon Madsen won the second medal in a row. However, he also needed an additional heat to win the bronze, because both he and Kacper Woryna had 39 points in the final classification. Finally Madsen could enjoy the medal, after the Pole's engine failure. It should be mentioned that the Dane missed one of the final tournaments in Vojens and if he had participated in it, he would almost certainly fight for gold until the end. The sixth place in the 2019 season was taken by Michael Jepsen Jensen (35 points) and seventh by Nicki Pedersen (33).

In 2020 the world was overwhelmed by the coronavirus pandemic, which caused all SEC final rounds to be held in Poland, but this time there were as many as five. Under these circumstances Leon Madsen stood on the podium for the third time in a row, scoring 64 points, winning a silver medal and Robert Lambert (67) triumphed in the series. Previous year's champion Mikkel Michelsen finished fourth this time with 46 points, losing six to Grigorij Laguta, who won the bronze medal. Although Nicki Pedersen scored only one point less than Michelsen, he finished 6th, losing the additional heat for staying in the cycle with Bartosz Smektala. Michael Jepsen Jensen raced poorly, finishing 15th in the SEC with 22 points. Nicki Pedersen and Leon Madsen are the only riders, who have won each of the three medals in the history of the series, over the past eight years.

Two Speedway Euro Championship final tournaments have been held in Denmark. In August 2014 the riders started at the track in Holsted, where Emil Sayfutdinov was the best. The second Peter Kildemand and the third Martin Vaculík stood on the podium next to the Russian. The SEC series returned to Denmark after a four-year break, in August 2019. Mikkel Michelsen took the victory in Vojens, in front of his own audience, defeating Kacper Woryna and Nicki Pedersen in the final race.

SEC News
Michelsen: Hard work pays off

Mikkel Michelsen became the Individual European Champion 2021. In Rybnik, cheered by the local audience, the Dane reached for his second career title.

Madsen: I will win the title again

By winning the SEC 2021 silver medal, Leon Madsen equalled Nicki Pedersen's achievement and reached for his fourth consecutive SEC medal. In Rybnik the Dane stood on the highest step of the podium, but in the general classification he lost two points to Mikkel Michelsen.

Dudek: It wasn’t easy

Patryk Dudek won the bronze medal of the 2021 European Speedway Championships. In Rybnik the Polish rider made up lost points and led to an extra heat in which he defeated Piotr Pawlicki.

Hansen: I learned a lot

Patrick Hansen finished on 12th position in the Speedway Euro Championship 2021. The Dane insists that competing against Europe's best riders is a good lesson for him for the future.

Bellego: I always want more

For David Bellego the competition in Rybnik was the first in this year's cycle of Speedway Euro Championship. Due to an injury, the Frenchman couldn’t take part in previous rounds, but during Saturday's competition he presented himself from a very good side.

Lambert: It's a pleasure to be part of the SEC

Last year's SEC winner Robert Lambert finished seventh in the general classification of this year's competition and that means did not secure his spot for the next year’s series. The Briton stresses that he has struggled since the beginning of the cycle.

SEC 2021 Round 4: Rybnik
SEC 2021 Round 3: Gdańsk
SEC 2021 Round 2: Guestrow
SEC 2021 Round 1: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Sandra Paulina Sandra Anastazja Klaudia
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Bydgoszcz Gda?sk ?l?skie

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Grohmann Polski Cukier Boll GLS


Lotto Kujawsko - Pomorskie DPV Logistic ZooLeszcz Poczta Polska Midam

Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy