2013-2020 SEC Summary: Sweden

Share on:

 During eight years of struggling as part of the Speedway Euro Championship, it means since the competition for the title of the best rider in Europe has been organized by One Sport, representatives of the Sweden team haven’t achieved any spectacular success. Riders from this country have gained only one bronze medal and this situation took place in the 2015 season.

 Mostly (five times) Sweden had only one representative in the Speedway Euro Championship. In two seasons Swedish fans could cheer on two riders and in 2016 three. When the SEC debuted in the speedway calendar, the only rider among the regular participants was Fredrik Lindgren. The current third rider in the world finished the cycle in 8th place, collecting 28 points. In the following season, two Swedes appeared at the list of regular participants and they were Andreas Jonsson and Jonas Davidsson. The popular "AJ" ranked one position higher than Lindgren (31 points) and his fellow-countryman, who took a distant 14th place with 14 points on his account, didn’t play a greater role.

The only medal went to Sweden in the 2015 season. The bronze was won by Antonio Lindbäck with 51 points, who lost four points to the second Nicki Pedersen and seven to the Individual European Champion of this year – Emil Sayfutdinov. In four tournaments of the SEC series in 2015, the Swede entered the final heat each time – two of them he finished third and two times he was fourth. A year later Lindbäck was in the TOP 5 until the end, but he lost his place in the series after the additional heat, after the last tournament and he finished 6th with 37 points. In 2016 Sweden was also represented by Fin Joonas Kylmaekorpi, who took 10th place in the final classification (25 points) and Peter Ljung, who didn’t play a significant role (15th place with 16 points).

In the next two seasons, fifth was the best place that the representatives of Sweden managed to take. In 2017 Andreas Jonsson returned to compete in the Speedway Euro Championship. In the end he gained fifth place in the series with 39 points. The following year Lindbäck secured his spot in the SEC series as he fought again for the title of best rider in Europe and finished 5th (37). Nine positions lower was Jonsson, who left the Speedway Euro Championship (just 19 points).

In the years 2019-2020 the Swedish riders certainly did below the expectations of both – their own and the fans from their country. Form of Antonio Lindbäck was much lower and in the final classification of the SEC cycle in the 2019 season he was 12th with 22 points. A year later the only Swedish representative was Peter Ljung, who was among the regular participants after a three-year break. His performances were far from perfect and he took a distant 14th place with 23 points on his account. However, it should be remembered that in 2020 five final rounds (one more than in previous years) took place in Poland and everything was caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

When it comes to tournaments that were organized in Sweden, the Speedway Euro Championship series has come to this country twice so far. In the 2015 season the meeting in Kumla was won by Emil Sayfutdinov, ahead of Grigorij Laguta and Nicki Pedersen. Two years later Hallstavik hosted one of the final rounds. At the stadium of the local Rospiggarna team, Václav Milík was the best and next to him on the podium were second Andzejs Lebedevs and third Andreas Jonsson.

SEC News
Swedes aiming to return to TAURON SEC

 Many Scandinavians will remember 5 August 2017 as the last time SEC series visited Sweden. But for riders that were there that night in Hallstavik, home of Rospiggarna, there is just the one thing that stands out - the weather.

Gdańsk will host the third round of SEC 2021

Gdańsk will host the best speedway riders of Europe during the third round of Speedway Euro Championship 2021. The competition at the Zbigniew Podlecki Stadium will take place on July 3rd.


The Danish Motor Union has announced that it will have a national qualifying competition for the SEC and SGP prior to the domestic season starting in the country. The qualifier will take place on 14 April at Korskro Motorcentrum, the home of Esbjerg Vikings, who have experienced riders like Nils Kristian Iversen in their squad for the 2021 season.

SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Poland

The Polish national team from the beginning of the Speedway Euro Championship series, it means from 2013, has always had a large group of regular participants in the stake. Despite such a large presence, it didn’t result in medal achievements, which may be surprising, because riders from this country are always highly rated and members of authorities often repeat that PGE Ekstraliga is "the best league in the world". However, Poles have only won two medals in the SEC cycle so far. The first of them – bronze – was won in 2016 by Krzysztof Kasprzak. Two years later Jaroslaw Hampel took second place and hung a silver medal around his neck. Every year Polish fans could watch three, four or even five (2015) riders with regular numbers from their country in the series.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Grohmann


Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy