Attractiveness of TAURON SEC 2020 tracks

Share on:

 Individual European Champion A.D. 2020 will be selected in five tournaments, hosted this year only in Poland. In July four stadiums will be attended by riders who will also fight for a pass to the Speedway Grand Prix for the 2021 season. Three objects will return to the series of competitions in the Tauron SEC, while one will debut.

The biggest attention in this year's cycle will certainly be focused on Torun's Motoarena. This is where the competition will start on 4th of July and 25 days later also medals will be awarded there. No one needs to be convinced of the attractiveness of the track at this venue. Riders have repeatedly said that the best racing track is there. Undoubtedly many events could be called very interesting, which is why the organizers of both the Tauron Speedway Euro Championship and the Speedway Grand Prix return regularly to that place. Thanks to this, fans can hope on the show at a really high, world-class level. Motoarena named after Marian Rose will appear in the Tauron SEC cycle for the fourth and fifth time. Previous final rounds at this venue were hosted in 2015, 2017 and 2019. The current record (56,50) of this 318-meter track belongs to Jack Holder, who set it on 20th of August 2017.

The next stadium where riders will appear this year, fighting for the medals of the Individual European Championships, will be the one in Bydgoszcz. The track (384 meters) record holder is Emil Sayfutdinov (59,64 – 8th of May 2011). The series will debut at the stadium named after Marshal Józef Piłsudski and the second of this year's final rounds will be held there. Fans in Bydgoszcz have repeatedly witnessed great events and the Speedway Grand Prix rounds have been held there as many as 16 times in 1998-2010 and 2013-2014. Tomasz Gollob, the best Polish rider in history, had great successes on it and his actions have been remembered by fans for a long time. This year's Tauron SEC participants will write a new story and will undoubtedly try to create a show worthy of this place.

The third of the finals will take place in Gniezno, at the stadium named after colonel Franciszek Hynek. This object hosted participants of the series quite recently, because two years ago. The track also has a length of 348 meters and its record holder is Antonio Lindbäck, who on 4th of August 2012 covered 4 laps in time 61,78. Competitors say about the track that it is specific, but some have problems at the gates. In the 2018 season Kai Huckenbeck made a surprise there, because he was not the favorite and despite that he checked into the grand finale. However, such events definitely add variety to the competition and a similar scenario can’t be ruled out this year. Some riders know this track better, others less so it can be a riddle for some. However, if only everyone will try to give their best, then the event in Gniezno can also stick in the memory of the fans for a long time. In recent years at this venue competitions were held as part of the U-21 Individual World Championships, Speedway World Cup and U-21 Team European Championships.

The penultimate round will take place on 22nd of July 2020 in Rybnik. Malcontents complained about the local track many times, even after it has been modernized in recent years. However in the last final of the Tauron SEC series in 2016 the fans witnessed the wonderful performance of Nicki Pedersen. Three time Individual World Champion in the whole competition lost only one point and won the gold medal, despite the fact that before this final round he was in the 9th position in general classification. In addition there was many rain before the meeting and the track was good after preparations made by organizers. In previous years there were also the final battle for the U-21 Team World Championship and the final of qualification to the speedway elite – Speedway Grand Prix Challenge. Troy Batchelor set the track record in Rybnik, which is 595,5 meters long. The Australian did it on 6th of April 2019 in a match with Orzel Lodz, interrupted by rain, covering 4 laps in time 62,74.

Five tournaments, hosted on four tracks are waiting for fans in this year's Tauron Speedway Euro Championship. Will Torun’s Motoarena be the most interesting? Or maybe – contrary to appearances, a very interesting competition will take place in Rybnik? What will the final rounds look like in Bydgoszcz and Gniezno? We will find out about this in July, but the fans should not be bored watching this year's rounds of the Individual European Championships.

SEC News
SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Poland

The Polish national team from the beginning of the Speedway Euro Championship series, it means from 2013, has always had a large group of regular participants in the stake. Despite such a large presence, it didn’t result in medal achievements, which may be surprising, because riders from this country are always highly rated and members of authorities often repeat that PGE Ekstraliga is "the best league in the world". However, Poles have only won two medals in the SEC cycle so far. The first of them – bronze – was won in 2016 by Krzysztof Kasprzak. Two years later Jaroslaw Hampel took second place and hung a silver medal around his neck. Every year Polish fans could watch three, four or even five (2015) riders with regular numbers from their country in the series.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Russia

Russia is another country, which achieved a victory in the Speedway Euro Championship. Riders from this country in eight years of competition in the series won two gold medals, to which they added two silver and two bronze. In 2013-2020 Russian representatives have always participated in the fight for the title of European champion. Two Russians defended their country's colors in the SEC cycle for six seasons and three time it was three riders. They won each of their medals in a different year, which meant that they weren’t on the final podium in only two seasons.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Latvia

A representative of Latvia appeared quite often among the regular participants in the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. This situation took place for five seasons – two riders from this country fought for the title of the best in Europe once and four times it was one rider. Despite the fact that Latvians have never been favorites in this series, one of them managed to win the Individual European Championship. Of course it was Andzejs Lebedevs, who defended his country's colors in the SEC cycle five times, winning the gold medal in the 2017 season.

Danes with the biggest amount of points in TAURON SEC 2020

The Danes scored the most points in last year's Individual European Championship series. Poland and Russia also have made it to the podium.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP Tygodnik ?u?lowy