5x Tauron SEC – one extra round for speedway fans

Share on:

This year's speedway season will be unique in many ways. All plans have been verified by pandemic of coronavirus, which has attacked in the winter. It is no different in the case of the Tauron Speedway Euro Championship series. However we can also see the benefits of this whole situation.

Everyone faced a big challenge. Almost from the very beginning it was certain that eliminations to this year's final rounds could not be possible. Later it was also decided that competitors will not be able to fight for the title of Individual European Champion at any of the previously planned dates and at any of the original venues. As it turned out, behind the scenes it brought a somewhat unexpected solution. Ultimately, it was decided to host all the final rounds in one country – in Poland. Earlier preparations for the start in PGE Ekstraliga and the consent obtained by the Polish speedway authorities from the government allowed for a optimistic view of the future. The fight for primacy in Europe only in Poland seemed to be the right and reasonable solution.

But this is not the only major change compared to the original plans. From the beginning of the Tauron Speedway Euro Championship series, the winner was known after four final rounds, which took place in a few months. This time the fight for the final victory will take place in just 25 days, so the competition will be more intense than before. Another surprise for fans is also increasing the number of final rounds to five. Because of that certainly everyone will remember the Tauron Speedway Euro Championship cycle as unique.

On 4th of July, the first of the final rounds will take place at Torun’s Motoarena named after Marian Rose. Just four days later, the competition will move to another city from the Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship and speedway riders will fight at the stadium named after Marshal Józef Piłsudski in Bydgoszcz, which will debut in the series. On 15th of July 2020 the third final round will take place. This time riders will compete at the stadium named after colonel Franciszek Hynek in Gniezno, where one of the final rounds took place two years ago. The penultimate part of this year's series is planned at the City Stadium in Rybnik on Wednesday, seven days after Bydgoszcz. An individual European Champion in 2016 was known at this venue during the last final. This year we will know the medalists of the Tauron Speedway Euro Championship series in Torun, on Motoarena, which will welcome the riders for the second time exactly on 29th of July.

The solutions that have been prepared in this year's series of battle for the title of Individual European Champion are in many respects innovative and unprecedented. Fans who are extremely hungry for high-level speedway will receive its increased dose in the form of more final rounds. It can be assumed that this year's competition will enjoy a lot of interest and fans could buy all available tickets that can appear on sale after the introduction of appropriate regulations at the state level and obtaining the appropriate permits. For those who will not be able to watch these promising shows at stadiums, there will be – as every year – reports from all finals, run by Eurosport television. After such a long break in watching the competition live, viewership of these finals should be high and fans, both in Poland and abroad, will gather in large numbers in front of TV sets. A larger number of final rounds will provide additional excitement and make hungry fans a lot of enjoy already in July and the grand final at Motoarena, during which the Individual European Champion will be known, promises to be very exciting now, in addition, because the winner will also collect a pass for next year's Speedway Grand Prix series.

SEC News
Closer look at TAURON SEC 2020

The TAURON SEC season in the year 2020 was more than unique. The series provided us with many emotions and a few special events, which are worth to mention after all. Speedway enthusiasts probably took notice of many details that we have not experienced in previous years or might come to conclusion, that in some cases history likes to repeat itself. Let's take a closer look at this year’s Individual European Championship competition.

Michelsen: I wasn't meant to win

Mikkel Michelsen took fourth place in this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. Before the start of the competition, The Dane announced the fight to defend his title he won a year ago, but less successful tournaments in Rybnik, Gniezno and Toruń crossed out his chances for final victory.

Madsen: Robert did a great job

Leon Madsen got the silver medal of the Individual European Championships. The Dane won three rounds of this year's cycle, but it was not enough to reclaim the title.

Lambert: I knew what I had to do

Robert Lambert became the new Individual European Champion. At the end of the TAURON SEC 2020 cycle, the British won the final round in Toruń. The fight for the gold medal was decided excitingly in the very final heat in which Lambert crossed the finish line before Leon Madsen.

Lambert is the new Individual European Champion after winning in Toruń!

Motoarena in Torun hosted the last and crucial round of this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship. After a tight and even tournament, the victory was achieved by Robert Lambert, who additionally won the title of Individual European Champion in 2020!

Madsen: I will do my best to win

Leon Madsen surprisingly took “only” sixth place during the third round of the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2020 which took place in Gniezno. The Dane scored nine points and now is on the second place in the interim classification of the cycle with a two point loss to the leader, Robert Lambert.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Bydgoszcz ?l?skie Kujawsko - Pomorskie

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Ewinner Boll Marma


Lotto Ministerstwo Sportu i Turystyki Poczta Polska Lavor Wash Niepodleg?a MosiR

Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy