Share on:

 Even if the plans for 2020 were originally completely different, the COVID-19 pandemic forced promotors to reorganize the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. Instead of four rounds with the grand final at the Silesian Stadium in Chorzów, fans will be watching a five rounds competition for the gold medal of the Individual European Championships and a starting place in next year’s FIM Speedway Grand Prix series. And all of this will happen with the enormous support of TAURON.

 Promotors of TAURON SEC, One Sport talk about this year’s events during a special press conference.

Thanks to TAURON’s support in the last two years, we developed the project to a level, which seemed to be impossible for some observators. Two times, the „Old Continent’s” best riders competed for the highest European titles at the amazing Silesian Stadium. We have organized numerous meetings on new venues, which has been noticed not only in Poland, but in the rest of the speedway world. From this place, we would like to thank TAURON for their support and commitment – said Karol Lejman from One Sport.

This is really important for us, especially now, when sport events are cancelled all over the world. Our plans for this year were completely different but due to the pandemic, everything changed. We decided to reward our fans loss of round of TAURON SEC in Chorzów by adding an extra round to the calendar. We believe, we will experience even more exciting battles for medals and a spot in the Grand Prix. It will be an exciting July for all speedway fans – added Jan Konikiewicz from One Sport.

TAURON Speedway Euro Championship will be a five round series, which will indicate the next Individual European Champion and a future SGP participant. TAURON SEC 2020 will be hosted by Toruń (July 4th), Bydgoszcz (July 8th), Gniezno (July 15th), Rybnik (July 22nd) and again Toruń (July 29th).

15 riders will take part in this year’s competition, with previous Individual European Champions on the lead. Kacper Woryna, Bartosz Smektała and Krzysztof Kasprzak - will try to reach for the first gold medal for Poland.

The lineup will be completed by Grigorij Laguta, Vaclav Milik, Michael Jepsen Jensen, Robert Lambert, Andrei Kudriashov, Kai Huckenbeck, David Bellego oraz Peter Ljung.

SEC News
SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Poland

The Polish national team from the beginning of the Speedway Euro Championship series, it means from 2013, has always had a large group of regular participants in the stake. Despite such a large presence, it didn’t result in medal achievements, which may be surprising, because riders from this country are always highly rated and members of authorities often repeat that PGE Ekstraliga is "the best league in the world". However, Poles have only won two medals in the SEC cycle so far. The first of them – bronze – was won in 2016 by Krzysztof Kasprzak. Two years later Jaroslaw Hampel took second place and hung a silver medal around his neck. Every year Polish fans could watch three, four or even five (2015) riders with regular numbers from their country in the series.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Russia

Russia is another country, which achieved a victory in the Speedway Euro Championship. Riders from this country in eight years of competition in the series won two gold medals, to which they added two silver and two bronze. In 2013-2020 Russian representatives have always participated in the fight for the title of European champion. Two Russians defended their country's colors in the SEC cycle for six seasons and three time it was three riders. They won each of their medals in a different year, which meant that they weren’t on the final podium in only two seasons.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Latvia

A representative of Latvia appeared quite often among the regular participants in the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. This situation took place for five seasons – two riders from this country fought for the title of the best in Europe once and four times it was one rider. Despite the fact that Latvians have never been favorites in this series, one of them managed to win the Individual European Championship. Of course it was Andzejs Lebedevs, who defended his country's colors in the SEC cycle five times, winning the gold medal in the 2017 season.

Danes with the biggest amount of points in TAURON SEC 2020

The Danes scored the most points in last year's Individual European Championship series. Poland and Russia also have made it to the podium.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy