Buy ticket

Grigorii Laguta wins in Guestrow

Share on:

Grigorii Laguta topped the podium in the first round of Tauron SEC in Guestrow. Title's defender - Leon Madsen ended as 2nd and Bartosz Smektała came third. Antonio Lindbaeck ended the meeting right next to the podium, coming as fourth. Laguta became the first leader of the Tauron SEC 2019 series.

From the very beginning in Guestrow, fans were watching some fantastic racing. In the first series of the starts, at this specific German track, with a starting machine placed at the end of second corner, we had a lot of top-notch speedway. First series belonged to the inside gates, specifically the first one, out of which all the riders won their heats. In the second series, it all switched to the gate B.

After two series of starts, we had Bartosz Smektała, Jarosław Hampel and Vaclav Milik on top. All of them got the maximum - 6 points.

After three series, however, there were no undefeated riders. U21 World Champion came third, Hampel got no point at all and Milik fell on the track, while racing as second.

Hegemony of winning from the inside gates was stopped by David Bellego. French rider won heat no.12. He was leading in the first attempt, when Milik fell, but in the heat's repeat, even though he didn't win a start, he was still able to take over Michelsen on distance. Debutant in Tauron SEC series had 6 points after three heats and got himself in the upper part of the table in Guestrow. If it wasn't for an exclusion after fighting with Nicki Pedersen in heat no.17, Frenchman could have got through to the race-off heat.

After four series, it was Antonio Lindbaeck and Grigorii Laguta topping the rank, with 10 points gathered. Four next riders had 8 of them (Madsen, Smektała, Woryna and Bellego). Jarosław Hampel and Michael Jepsen Jensen still had a will to advance to the last chance heat. It only confirmed that the line up of this year's Tauron SEC is extremely equal and strong.

Hosts of tonight's meeting could've been disappointed with performance of their countrymen. Kai Huckenbeck has had some spectacular starts on this track, but tonight, he was far from shining.

- I can't find a proper setup to start well, and this start is crucial - Huckenbeck said during an interview on Eurosport. - Unluckily, I wasn't able to hold the lead in the heat, when Leon Madsen overtook me - German added.

After all, he found a strength to wake up in the last series of starts and went through to the race-off heat.

Grigorii Laguta and Bartosz Smektała went to the final heat directly, after reaching first two positions. Antonio Lindbaeck and Leon Madsen joined these two after the race-off heat,

In the decisive heat of the night, Grigorii Laguta rocked the German crowd, starting from the first gate and even though Leon Madsen was attacking him hard, he was still able to take this win up to the last meters.

European Champion from 2011 got himself on top of the Tauron SEC 2019 overall classification with 15 points gathered. Right behind his back, we have U21 World Champion - Bartosz Smektała. Two next riders: Leon Madsen and Antonio Lindbaeck are close as well with 11 points.

2nd round of Tauron SEC is coming on 27th of July in Torun (Poland).

1. Grigorij Łaguta 15 (2,2,3,3,2,3)
2. Leon Madsen 11 (0,3,2,3,1,2)
3. Bartosz Smektała 12 (3,3,1,1,3,1)
4. Antonio Lindbaeck 11 (3,1,3,3,1,0)
5. Michael Jepsen Jensen 10 (2,0,3,2,3)
6. Kai Huckenbeck 9 (0,2,2,2,3)
7. Vaclav Milik 8 (3,3,w,0,2)
8. Kacper Woryna 8 (1,2,2,3,0)
9. David Bellego 8 (1,2,3,2,w)
10. Nicki Pedersen 8 (2,0,2,2,2)
11. Jarosław Hampel 7 (3,3,0,1,0)
12. Mikkel Michelsen 7 (2,1,1,0,3)
13. Robert Lambert 4 (1,0,1,1,1)
14. Paweł Przedpełski 3 (0,1,u,0,2)
15. Anders Thomsen 3 (0,d,1,1,1)
16. Kevin Woelbert 2 (1,1,0,0,0)
17. Tobias Busch ns
18. Ben Ernst ns

SEC News
Michelsen: This victory means a lot for me

Mikkel Michelsen won the third round of the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2019, which took place in Vojens. Due to high point score, Dane was promoted to third place in the intermediate classification of the cycle.

Woryna: I have a reason to work harder

Kacper Woryna took second place during the third round of TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2019. In Vojens, the Polish representative scored 11 points and before the final round of the competition, which will be held in Chorzów, he still has real chances to win one of the medals of this year's Individual European Championships.

Michelsen wins in Vojens

 Mikkel Michelsen won the third round of TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2019, which was held in Vojens. Kacper Woryna was the runner-up and the last spot on the podium was taken by Nicki Pedersen.

Przedpełski : The result could be a little different

After the inauguration inauguration in Guestrow, Paweł Przedpełski noted a much better performance in the second round of TAURON SEC, which took place in Toruń on July 27. On Motoarena the Pole scored eight points and was classified in ninth place. Thanks to that he made some points in the general classification, but he is still far from the top. We talk with Pawełek about the importance and course of the competition in Toruń, the fall with Adrian Miedziński, as well as about the missed chance for an even better result and the plan for the second part of the struggle for the title of European Champion.

In Pole Position for the SEC

So far this year, Russian Grigorij Laguta has won Round 1 and Danish, Leon Madsen, Round 2. But do not be surprised if one of the Polish contingent in this year's SEC takes victory this weekend in Vojens, Denmark.

Look out for the Danes in Vojens

The TAURON Speedway Euro Championship moves to Denmark for Round 3 which will take place in Vojens on Saturday 10 August.Speedway in the host nation is in really good shape at the moment so don't be surprised in the Danish national anthem is playing at the end of the meeting too.

TAURON SEC 2019 Round 2: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2019 Round 1: Güstrow
SEC Chorzów Press Conference 08.07.2019
SEC Girls - Natalia
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Güstrow Kujawsko - Pomorskie

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Lotos Ovethi Toru? Plaza Grohmann Alstal


Lotto Poczta Polska Ministerstwo Sportu i Turystyki Toru? Stadion ?l?ski Marma Atut Rental Auto Frelik Niepodleg?a

Media partners

WP Tygodnik ?u?lowy Antenne MV